Stoke Preview: With Van Persie & Koscielny Out I’m Worried About This Game

By on February 23, 2011

arsenal news

We are back to the grind of the English Premier League, with a match against Stoke City tonight at the Emirates Stadium. This match was postponed from December when the country was covered in snow.

With Arsene Wenger’s news that both Van Persie and Koscielny will miss the match, I am a little worried about the consequences for the team. Van Persie is the league’s top scorer in 2011 and we will certainly miss his goals up front. However it is the loss of Koscielny that is making me worry. Djourou and Kos has formed a good partnership and in the absence of Vermaelen remain the two best centre-backs that we have. Djourou will definitely be partnered with Squillaci and this partnership will come under extreme examination by the bully boys from Stoke City.

The game plan of the Potters is very traditional but successful against teams like us. We have always been susceptible to the high ball and tall center-forwards. In Stoke City’s line-up, they have two giants in Jones and Carew. There is no doubt that both will feature in the match to take advantage of the long bombs from Rory Delap. I just am not confident with Squillaci’s role in defense. Although he started well at the beginning of the season, he seems to have deteriorated at the turn of the year after returning from injury. The only saving grace for me is having Wojciech in goal because he is definitely more commanding than Almunia.

If we are going to keep our title hopes alive, this game against Stoke will be critical. Don’t forget Spurs are not far behind and anything less than a win will make it really uncomfortable for the Gunners at the tail end of the season when we have to visit White Hart Lane.

Submitted by The Arsenal Kid

Best of the web

10 Comments

  1. joni goonah

    February 23, 2011 at 9:34 am

    we shld be worried.. if Wenger lets the retard barndoor bendtner lead the line tonight!!!

  2. martie

    February 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

    we should be worried, that donkey sqillaci will be playing, so i guesss he will get brushed aside like usual.

  3. kay

    February 23, 2011 at 9:53 am

    I want to believe it will be a difficult game but bearing in mind that Stoke have not been fantastic on their travels i still expect a win for Arsenal. Bendtner should lead the attack line, he will also be useful when we are defending those long balls from Rory Delap. Our Chances will definitely come and we must take them clinically. Guns Out!!

  4. coob23

    February 23, 2011 at 10:03 am

    the thing is like, chamakh canbt buy a goal, a least bender gets in them positions to miss, i know it sounds stupid, but evenualy he will get one in. chamakh just cant do anything right now. im not sure what could happen tonight….

  5. realistic tony

    February 23, 2011 at 10:05 am

    We are ARSENAL… a great club, great traditions, a super stadium and top quality players. However we are in a situation where we are worried about a stoke team that has one basic tactic.
    And the reason we’re worried is because we have no spare experienced, physical and quality central defenders.Squillaci is a joke….he gets out-muscled and is hopeless in the air. Kenwyn jones will eat him.
    What gets to me is that this situation is nothing new, stretching back to when TV5 was injured. He (aw) shouldve bought a decent centre back in january, and once again he has taken a chance with hoping to keep his best players injury-free. To be fair Koscienly has improved , so that djourou and kos form a quite solid defense. But fighting for 4 trophies and being forced to play squillaci is absolutely crazy.
    I hope my fears will not come to fruition

  6. Pingback: Manchester United » Blog Archive » Stoke Preview: With Van Persie & Koscielny Out I’m Worried About This Game

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Stoke Preview: With Van Persie & Koscielny Out I'm Worried About This Game | Football Talk -- Topsy.com

  8. Wiredu, GHANA

    February 23, 2011 at 11:47 am

    The game looks quite tricky but we ve to exhibit what true champions do on such occasions when pursuing a quadruple. The Squid in the heart of defence is quite worrying but I think our front men can ease off tension when they utilise their chances very well. We gonna win by 3 goals to nil.
    ~VICTORY THROUGH HARMONY~

  9. jim

    February 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    How about miguel Ignasi, won’t he be better than squallachi? or is he too green?

  10. Pingback: Stoke Preview: With Van Persie & Koscielny Out I?m Worried About This Game | My celeb news blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *