[Video] Did Carroll’s Header Cross The Line? + Highlights From Chelsea 2-1 Liverpool

By on May 5, 2012

Chelsea won this seasons FA Cup after a 2-1 win over Liverpool at Wembley on Saturday evening. Ramires put the Blues ahead early on before Didier Drogba scored his eight goal in 8 appearances at Wembley to make it 2-0. Sub Andy Carroll then halved the deficit before the striker looked to have equalised with a far post header. However, the goal wasn’t given as the referee and his linesman claimed it didn’t cross the line as Cech made a superb save to deny the Liverpool man. Watch the goal below and judge for yourself; was the ball over the line? You can then watch full highlights from the match underneath.

Carroll Header

Full highlights

Loading...

9 Comments

  1. BOB

    May 5, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Time and time again the REFF buggers up a good game Cech wrist and hand was bent so it should have been given a goal and plus the force of the ball would have pushed his hand back even more so it was a goal plain and simple

    • robbie

      May 7, 2012 at 11:36 am

      it was NOT a goal it has been analysed by experts and they have proved the whole of the ball was not over the line.what goes round comes round (luis garcia v chelsea ?

      • Dave Smith

        May 7, 2012 at 10:49 pm

        Why on earth do Chelsea fans keep going on about this decision? The correct decison should have been a penalty and the goalkeeper sent off – same result in the end as it turns out but softer on Chelsea at the time!

  2. Akomolafe pius

    May 5, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    As my own point of view the ball is not a goal. Because if the ball cross the line know how peter cech we push the ball out like that.

  3. Esson

    May 6, 2012 at 6:10 am

    Dat was a brilliant save 4m peter cerch.it wasn’t a goal…whl,congrat 2 d blues 4 taking d trophy in wembley

  4. Prince Charles

    May 6, 2012 at 9:09 am

    its so obvious the whole ball did not cross the line-are we so blind or are we blind with jealousy

  5. TREBOR

    May 6, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Never over – but both teams were woefull

  6. kene Flexy

    May 6, 2012 at 9:22 am

    It’s like some people are watching d beautiful game of football with sentiment…a goal is when the whole circumference of the ball crosses the line and that andy Carroll header didn’t obey that law.

    • Andy Gee

      May 6, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      Okay I’m a Liverpool fan, but yeah on replay it wasn’t fully across, I think, still not 100% sure though. Why no goal line technology because this decision was lucky? A split second decision could have gone the other way. Goal line cams would sort it out in secs, no errors like in the other Chelsea game.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *