England Squad Announced: Jack Wilshere & Jordan Henderson Miss Out

By on August 30, 2015

England Wayne Rooney

Roy Hodgson has named his 22-man squad for England’s upcoming 2016 European Championship qualifying double header.

The Three Lions continue their qualifying campaign when they take on San Marino and Switzerland next month and Hodgson has named his latest squad this evening.

The big news is that Swansea City midfielder Jonjo Shelvey has been recalled to the squad and could now earn his first cap since making his debut against San Marino way back in October 2012.

Hodgson has been forced to turn to Shelvey as Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere and Liverpool skipper Jordan Henderson have been ruled out through injury.

Manchester United’s Luke Shaw also gets a recall after his impressive start to the new season and he’s joined by Kieran Gibbs in the squad despite the fact the Gunners left-back has barely played this season.

Leicester City’s Jamie Vardy gets the nod after his excellent start to the new campaign and is one of four forwards named in the 22 along with Wayne Rooney, Theo Walcott and Harry Kane.

Here is the full squad which was announced on thefa.com:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart, Jack Butland, Tom Heaton

Defenders: Nathanial Clyne, Luke Shaw, Kieran Gibbs, Gary Cahill, Chris Smalling, John Stones, Phil Jagielka

Midfielders: Michael Carrick, James Milner, Ross Barkley, Jonjo Shelvey, Alex Oxlaide-Chamberlain, Raheem Sterling, Fabian Delph, Ryan Mason

Forwards: Wayne Rooney, Harry Kane, Jamie Vardy, Theo Walcott


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *