Connect with us


Infographic: Things that have happened since England last won the World Cup

Here is an infographic detailing some specific events that have happened since England last won the World Cup over 50 years ago…

Brazil, West Germany, Argentina, Italy, Argentina (again), West Germany (again), Brazil (and again), France, Brazil (yet again), Italy (again), Spain and no-longer-just-West Germany have all won the World Cup since England in 1966. 12 tournaments, six different countries and more than 50 years, as this infographic shows. It wears you down.

But maybe 2018 will be different. Maybe Gareth Southgate has found the right mix – he certainly has a youthful, energetic and talented team to work with. In a tournament that has seen some of the favourites struggle, England have impressed. There’s no superstar – no Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi to carry the burden – but there is a real team ethic.

The saves of Jordan Pickford, the defending of John Stones, the creativity of Dele Alli, the speed of Raheem Sterling and the goals of Harry Kane – these are the qualities England boast, and it could be enough to add the Three Lions to the list of World Cup winners for a second time.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Other News

More in Features