Opinion: Do Liverpool Have A Realistic Shot At Winning The Title?

By on July 5, 2011

Today I tackle the topic of Liverpool fans thinking that their squad are strong enough to challenge Chelsea FC, Manchester United and Arsenal, not forgetting Manchester City for the Premier League crown.

Well, my first reason why we are on the up is because we have Kenny Dalglish. If you guys saw Dalglish’s first match at his second spell in the FA Cup, WOW. The atmosphere was absolutely buzzing, and it remained that way all the way to the final whistle although Liverpool lost.

VOdds

Same goes for his second match in charge. Something about the King’s return is telling the fans that something special and revolutionary is about to happen, and Liverpool are finally going to claim that elusive 19th Premier League crown.

Another reason would be that nowadays we won’t be worrying about whether Fernando Torres had an injury, or whether he was on form, we have two strikers right now capable of changing the game in a split second. I don’t even really have to remind you guys of what he did to the current champions Manchester United at Anfield.

Funding is another key element of why we are on the up. With Tom Hicks and George Gillette, we got absolutely NOWHERE. No stadium developments, no actual spending (Aquilani’s deal can be covered for with the Mascherano deal) and basically a lot of boardroom feuds.

Now we don’t have any of that nonsense (well, except the stadium developments, they are still sorting that out) and we are finally linked/signing players of high caliber and talent, and we definitely don’t have the boardroom feuds (except when Hicks/Gillette come in every once in a while complaining of this ‘epic swindle’).

My last reason? That would have to be that we are maintaining our key players minus the potential departure of Meireles in the summer. Gerrard, whom wanted away two or three years ago isn’t moving anywhere, Pepe Reina seemingly is set to stay with the Merseyside club and Jamie Carragher still has a few (if not many) years left in his engine.

So Feel Free to express your opinion, agree or disagree?

Submitted by Two Liverpool Fans

 

Loading...

23 Comments

  1. Billy

    July 5, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I think this coming season is asking alot, but never say never. Yet if we make up 3 or more places up the table this season, then with CL back at Anfield and the players that this can attract, I feel the following season we’ll have a good chance.

    • dehtyhthj

      July 5, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      i agree we wont win the league this season and we wont do it next season either but if we get in the champions league next season we can get higher quality players and if our under 17s reach there potential i think 3 or 4 seasons from now we could find our selves winning the league on a regular basis even more so with the new money rules coming in i think that will cripple man city tottenham and chelsea in the long term leaving only arsenal and manchester united to compete with and once our stadium is built or redeveloped we will be earning a hell of a lot bearing in mind the 50 mil a year we are getting from next season just from shirt sponsors and then champs league money if we qualify i expect that we will then there is revenue tv rights etc add to that the money from player sales and all the money a new stadium would bring in we could turn into real madrid and buy any huge player we wanted but thats all ifs and buts the first thing we need to do is qualify for the champions league sorry about the spelling

      • Mark

        July 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm

        dehtyhthj – do you have a clue as to what you are talking about?

  2. clyde

    July 5, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Liverpool winning the title is as realistic as Lucas Leiva being voted the best midfielder in the world.

    • Bill

      July 5, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      Lucas Leiva is one of the best midfielders in the world, and getting better.

      go post on your own Manure blogs clyde.

      • Dan

        July 5, 2011 at 4:17 pm

        well said. I hate those who keep putting down Lucas, he is in one of the best International teams in the world and the best club team, wouldn’t be there if he wasn’t

        • 'Will

          July 5, 2011 at 6:10 pm

          Dan, we may be the best club in the world in our fans eyes, but that’s a very different thing from having the best club side in the world.
          Lucas is much improved and a good player.
          Seriously tho, He wouldn’t start for any of the best sides in the league, never mind best in Europe.

          • Dan

            July 5, 2011 at 7:18 pm

            Will I think you are wrong, as a defensive midfielder the guy is brilliant and don’t forget he is getting better and better. Brazil would not have him in their international side if he wasn’t. Don’t forget he is 24 and players peak at 26 (supposedly. He made the most tackles in the EPL last season. People forget he is a DEFENSIVE midfielder so don’t expect a lot of flare going forward.

  3. mac

    July 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    it depends on what players we bring in.

  4. Ronny

    July 5, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I think Liverpool will have a realistic shot at the title if they can bring the right players in. This season gives them better shot because all top 4 sides are in rebuilding phase which places them on equal footing with other top teams.

  5. bazza

    July 5, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    This season is too early as we are some distance away from the top sides, just because we beat man u, chelsea & man city doesnt make us world beaters. During KK comeback we also dropped silly points against sides that were relegated or just avoided relegation.

    Man u won the last season while not playing great football, but you can be sure old whiskey nose will have them playing better this year if they sign some quality players.

    Man c will be stronger and so will chelsea.

    We have a good chance of pipping the gooners for a top 4 place but dont write them off.

    Also I wathced us get convincenly beaten at home by spurs who didnt even make the top 4

  6. larsbo

    July 5, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Must be the most blinkered view I have read for many a year.

    If Liverpool crack top 4 they will have had an exceptional season. Realistically a place in Europa cup is an improvement.

    League title – not a chance

  7. Syed

    July 5, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    ‘we are finally linked/signing players of high caliber and talent’ WHAT??? if you think players such as Downing, Adams, Carrol and Henderson are of high caliber – you my friend dont know much about quility! we will finish 6-7 position at best, with these players.

  8. Chambers

    July 5, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Realistically? No! We need to get some world-class additions and that will not happen I think until we get back into the CL. That job will be harder still this coming season as more clubs improve. Still we just need to do our damnedest…

  9. tim

    July 5, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    only problem is. we have gerrard meireles, henderson, spearing, shelvey, lucas and aqualini in central midfield. and charlie adam looking very likely. that would mean 8 CM’s. Best option would be to let meireles leave. and send shevey and spearing on loan.

  10. john

    July 5, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Just because King Kenny has brought in a great atmosphere doesn’t mean anything. I’m sure there is a great atmosphere at Fulham too. It’s all about quality players and Liverpool, sadly, are lacking in them

  11. Dan

    July 5, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Stand a chance if we get the right players, we are not playing anything else in terms of Europe so probably have a slight advantage over the others, but still a tough challenge with sort of a new squad. They need to time to gel they can’t all be like Luis who slotted in perfectly.

  12. redz

    July 5, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    @clyde, u are obviously not a pool supporter and u dont no feck all, since kk came in january we thrashed man u 3-1,thrashed man city 3-0,beat chelsea 1-0,with new signings coming in who knows ,it will be close..lucas may not be de best midfielder in de world but hes 1 of de top 5 in de premiership at de moment, look up his personal stats clyde

  13. Reythoughts

    July 5, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Firstly, and most importantly it depends on the quality of players they sign, are they world class players like suarez or someone who is above average type of players.
    Secondly it depends on the signings if they are able to blend in with the squad.
    Thirdly it depends if KD is able to motivate the players to give their very best in every matches.
    Lastly it depends on luck, referee decisions on matches, and injuries on key players.

  14. red2death

    July 5, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Liverpool will always have a chance because the league just isn’t that strong. No team is really that dominant on the pitch, and there’s no team out there that LFC can’t match and beat.

    Last season’s standings might suggest a gulf in class between 1st and 6th. But take into account how much Hodgson was responsible for that. Also, trying pitting 1st against 6th and see what happens. 3-1.

  15. fraquar

    July 5, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Title in ’11-12? Lol.

  16. Pingback: Opinion: Do Liverpool Have A Realistic Shot At Winning The Title? – Football-Talk | Chelsea Football Club Stuff

  17. Bee

    July 7, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Lets face it anything can happen in football, its what happens on the day. I know there are differences compared to the history i’m about to say, Leeds United, Newcastle United, (manchester united in 2011/12) all getting relegated. Supposed to have been bigger clubs. Anything can happen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *