Connect with us


OFFICIAL England Squad Numbers Announced

By Football Talk.

England have revealed the official squad numbers each player has been given for the forthcoming World Cup in South Africa. Although squad numbers are not a guarantee as to what the starting XI will be, it’s a very good indication meaning David James is set to be given the nod in goal, Joe Cole and Aaron Lennon could start on the wings with Peter Crouch partnering Wayne Rooney up front.

Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard could be partnered together in the centre of midfield, with John Terry, Rio Ferdinand, Ashley Cole and Glen Johnson making up the defence. That is a very plausible starting team to play USA on June 12th, the only question mark will be the fitness of Gareth Barry who is still recovering from an ankle injury and would be expected to come in when fit.

Squad Numbers

1. David James
2. Glen Johnson
3. Ashley Cole
4. Steven Gerrard
5. Rio Ferdinand (capt.)
6. John Terry
7. Aaron Lennon
8. Frank Lampard
9. Peter Crouch
10. Wayne Rooney
11. Joe Cole
12. Robert Green
13. Stephen Warnock
14. Gareth Barry
15. Matthew Upson
16. James Milner
17. Shaun Wright-Phillips
18. Jamie Carragher
19. Jermain Defoe
20. Ledley King
21. Emile Heskey
22. Michael Carrick
23. Joe Hart

Other News

More in Chelsea