Oxlade-Chamberlain + Sterling Included As Hodgson Names His Latest England Squad

By on February 27, 2014
Luke Shaw

Southampton’s Luke Shaw

Roy Hodgson has just announced a 30-man squad to face Denmark at Wembley next week, as confirmed by the FA.

The big news is that Raheem Sterling has been rewarded for his fine form for Liverpool with a recall to the squad. The winger has been putting in some excellent displays for the Merseysiders to help them maintain a Premier League title push this season so fully deserves his chance to impress.


Sterling is joined by Jordan Henderson who’s also been a key feature in the Liverpool midfield, while team mates Glen Johnson, Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge are also in the squad.

Arsenal midfielder Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain returns to the fold after recovering from a knee injury that saw him sidelined for the majority of the first half of the season, and he joins team mate Jack Wilshere in the 30-man squad.

Despite their troubles this season, Manchester United have five representatives in the squad; namely Chris Smalling, Michael Carrick, Tom Cleverley, Danny Welbeck and Wayne Rooney, but there is no place for the injured Phil Jones.

As expected, Chelsea trio Frank Lampard, Cary Cahill and Ashley Cole all retain their places while Tottenham’s Kyle Walker is included even though he’s currently out with through injury. Team mate Andros Townsend keeps his place despite only just recovering from a hamstring strain, while Manchester City have two representatives in Joe Hart and James Milner.

There is also a first call-up for Southampton left-back Luke Shaw while Steven Caulker comes in for the injured Phil Jagielka. However, there is no place for Andy Carroll, Gareth Barry or Andy Johnson.

The squad in full:


Fraser Forster (Celtic), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich City).


Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Steven Caulker (Cardiff City), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).


Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).


Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Jay Rodriguez (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).

England begin their World Cup preparations as they welcome Denmark to Wembley next Wednesday and it will be one of the final times the players will get their chance to impress before boss Roy Hodgson picks his squad for Brazil 2014.


One Comment

  1. Pingback: Oxlade-Chamberlain + Sterling Included As Hodgson Names His Latest England Squad | About LFC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *