Liverpool Dominate As PFA Player + Young Player of the Year Nominees Are Announced

By on April 18, 2014


The nominees for the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year for the 2013/14 Premier League season have been announced this afternoon and unsurprisingly, Liverpool dominate proceedings. 

The current league leaders have three players nominated in the Player of the Year category, namely captain Steven Gerrard and strikers Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge.

Gerrard has been in superb form to lead the team towards their first Premiership title while Suarez and Sturridge have formed a deadly partnership up front, scoring 49 goals between them so far.

The Mersey trio will be up against Chelsea attacker Eden Hazard, Southampton’s Adam Lallana and Manchester City’s Yaya Toure.

Liverpool also have two players nominated for the Young Player of the Year Award with Daniel Sturridge also in the running along with team mates Raheem Sterling.

Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsey has been rewarded for his sensational early season form by being nominated along with Everton’s Ross Barkley, Southampton’s Luke Shaw while Chelsea’s Eden Hazard is also up for the Young Player gong.

PFA Player of the Year Award:

  • Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
  • Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
  • Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)
  • Yaya Toure (Man City)
  • Adam Lallana (Southampton)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Young Player of the Year Award:

  • Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)
  • Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  • Ross Barkley (Everton)
  • Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal)
  • Luke Shaw (Southampton)

Who do you think should win the awards this season? Share your suggestions below.



  1. Pingback: Liverpool Dominate As PFA Player + Young Player of the Year Nominees Are Announced | About LFC

  2. say what?

    April 18, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Gerrard for player of the year is embarrassing. Even Liverpool fans at the beginning of the season were saying he was past it. Gerrard ahead of Silva is a joke.

    • Patrick

      April 19, 2014 at 2:42 am

      Gerrard is the spine of Liverpool team, capable of leading and motivating the team to achieve great. Silva is just a clown running around, he is good only with great players around him! Comparing this clown to Gerrard itself already is a great joke!

  3. Felix Akpesiri

    April 18, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Gerrard or Suarez will win the Player of the year award, while Sterling or Barkley will win the best young player of the award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *