Wilshere No.7, Sterling No.19: England Squad Numbers Revealed For World Cup

By on May 22, 2014

England Wayne Rooney

England boss Roy Hodgson has confirmed the squad numbers for this summers World Cup finals in Brazil.

The Three Lions are currently training out in Portugal ahead of a friendly against Peru at Wembley later this month, before flying over to Miami to continue their preparations before next months kick off against Italy.


Hodgson named his 23-man squad last week and now the official numbers to be worn by the players have been revealed by the Football Association this afternoon.

Usually the squad numbers give an indication of what the starting line-up is going to be, but that may not necessarily be the case on this occasion for every position.

No surprises that Manchester City’s Joe Hart has been handed the No.1 shirt and the predicted back four have all also been given first team numbers, with Glen Johnson No.2, Leighton Baines 3, Gary Cahill 5 and Phil Jagielka 6.

Liverpool skipper Steven Gerrard will wear the No.4 shirt while the likely strikers in Daniel Sturridge and Wayne Rooney have been handed the No.9 and No.10 jerseys.

The rest of the midfield is still unknown with many predicting Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana and Raheem Sterling to be picked in Hodgson’s starting eleven. However, they have been given the numbers 14, 19 and 20, with Jack Wilshere No.7, Frank Lampard 8 and Danny Welbeck 11.

Obviously there is only so much focus we can give to squad numbers and I’d be hugely surprised if all of Wilshere, Lampard and Welbeck were in the first eleven against the Italians on June 14.

Here is a full run-through of the numbers:

1. Joe Hart
2. Glen Johnson
3. Leighton Baines
4. Steven Gerrard
5. Gary Cahill
6. Phil Jagielka
7. Jack Wilshere
8. Frank Lampard
9. Daniel Sturridge
10. Wayne Rooney
11. Daniel Welbeck
12. Chris Smalling
13. Ben Foster
14. Jordan Henderson
15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
16. Phil Jones
17. James Milner
18. Rickie Lambert
19. Raheem Sterling
20. Adam Lallana
21. Ross Barkley
22. Fraser Forster
23. Luke Shaw

What do you make of the numbers? What do you think Hodgson’s starting line-up will be? Share your opinions below.



  1. Pingback: Wilshere No.7, Sterling No.19: England Squad Numbers Revealed For World Cup | About LFC

  2. philibusdgabriel

    May 22, 2014 at 5:29 pm


  3. Awoselu shola

    May 22, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    is good nunber for d players

  4. Awoselu shola

    May 22, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    all England fans belive in wanye rooney

  5. Hassan said

    May 22, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    In Rooney we trust.Don 4get da young star Januzaj.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *