Three New Faces Added As Arsenal Submit Revised Champions League Squad

By on February 4, 2015

Francis Coquelin, Olivier Giroud and Gabriel Paulista have all been included in Arsenal’s revised Champions League squad for the knockout stages of the competition.

Giroud was left out of the squad for the group stages as he was expected to be on the sidelines until the new year with an ankle injury that he suffered back in August.

As it turned out, the striker recovered far quicker than expected and was forced to sit out of our final two group matches despite being fully fit.

However, the Frenchman will now be eligible to face Monaco in the knockout stages after being named in our revised squad list which was submitted to UEFA earlier this week.

Also included is Coquelin – who was out-of-favour and out on loan at Charlton during the group stages – but with the midfielder now firmly in Arsene Wenger’s first team plans, it’s no surprise to see him brought in to the squad.

The third of our permitted changes is new signing Gabriel, who comes into the squad following his move from Villarreal last month.

Unfortunately, as we can only make three changes to the original squad, Krystian Bielik isn’t included so won’t be eligible to take part in the remainder of our Champions League campaign.

The likes of Lukas Podolski, Joel Campbell and Yaya Sanogo have all been left out of the squad after heading out on loan during the January window.

Here is a full list of our squad, which includes the A and B lists:

A List

Wojciech Szczesny, Mathieu Debuchy, Kieran Gibbs, Per Mertesacker, Gabriel, Laurent Koscielny, Tomas Rosicky, Mikel Arteta, Jack Wilshere, Mesut Ozil, Olivier Giroud, David Ospina, Theo Walcott, Aaron Ramsey,  Alexis Sanchez,  Nacho Monreal, Santi Cazorla, Mathieu Flamini, Calum Chambers, Danny Welbeck, Abou Diaby, Emiliano Martinez, Francis Coquelin, Gedion Zelalem

B List

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Serge Gnabry, Chuba Akpom, Hector Bellerin, Isaac Hayden, Ryan Huddart, Deyan Iliev, Alex Iwobi, Glen Kamara, Tafari Moore, Brandon Ormonde-Ottewill, George Dobson, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Stefan O’Connor.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *