[Video] Did Reina Really Deserve To Be Sent Off For This ‘Headbutt’?

By on April 2, 2012

Liverpool goalkeeper Pepe Reina was sent off late on during the Reds 2-0 defeat to Newcastle on Sunday. The stopper was adjudged to have head-butted James Perch after the defender seemed to clip the Spaniards foot in the area.

Reina certainly over-reacted and there was a little coming together, but did he really deserve to be sent off? Reina’s head does move towards Perch but he doesn’t really catch him, and there is even a doubt whether he touched him at all. Take a look and judge for yourself. Should he have gone for this?


szólj hozzá: red[Matchhighlight.com]

Best of the web

6 Comments

  1. Steve of Chiang Mai

    April 2, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Stupid thing to do….even if there was minimal contact. Have a look how many outfield players have a big centre half go through the back of them every game and they don’t get up and back heads with someone.Reina loses it over a little trip. He deserved to get sent off for stupidity!

  2. scouser

    April 2, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    what goes around comes around when it comes to conning the ref, liverpool fans might moan and complain but have they forgot about suarez in the derby game, how conned the ref into sending rodwell off by acting like he’d been killed after rolling over 6 times, then there’s gerad who got pienaar sent off by his actions that pienaar had elbowed him in the face, as for the liverpool team and kenny i hope he remains their manager for years to come, he’s absolutely useless at buying decent talented players, keep up the good work kenny

    • mikk

      April 2, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      poor deluded blue nose we’ll beat u in the cup without a keeper…

  3. Mike Arms

    April 2, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Graham Poll in his weekly column has slated the referee for getting the important decisions wrong. He states the handball on the line was a definite penalty and a sending off. Also the red card for Reina was not a red as no or minimal contact occurred, suggesting instead the other player should have been cautioned for simulation. This again could have been red as he would have received a yellow for a blatant trip and a yellow for the oscar winning performance.

  4. Brand0

    April 2, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    The charge revolves around Reina’s conduct, not the reaction. Reina conducted himself like a child. Why should Perch help the person who put his head in his face? Perch shouldn’t even have had a yellow – it was a trip is all. I’m a proper Liverpool fan by the way, not a blinkered one like the idiot author.

  5. morteza

    April 3, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    damet garm REINA
    YNWA…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *