Man City vs Arsenal: Preview, Preferred Line-up & Predicted Score

By on December 17, 2011

Arsenal face league leaders Man City at the Etihad Stadium tomorrow afternoon. What a game this promises to be. The Gunners won the corresponding fixture last season 3-0 after City went down to 10-men early on. How the Arsenal faithful would love a similar scoreline tomorrow!

City may be flying-high but they lost their first game of the season last weekend after Chelsea beat them 2-1 at Stamford Bridge despite Balotelli putting them ahead after just 3 minutes. Arsenal have won seven of their last 8 and are in excellent form going in to the game.

Team News:

Arsene Wenger has the same squad available as he did for last weeks Everton game. The toothless Toffee’s failed to test the Gunners defence and i expect City will have identified the full backs as a place they could have some joy. Vermaelen is our best centre back but due to injuries to Gibbs and Santos, the Belgian will have to once again fill in on the left.

I have no worries about the Verminator, it’s the other side I have concerns about. Djourou. He is the weakest link and if Aguero and Silva identify the Swiss defender we could be in trouble. Johan will have to be on top form to contain the City attack, which has amassed an incredible 49 goals in 15 games so far. The ever-improving Koscielny and Mertesacker will continue in the middle.

No changes are expected for the game, so the front six will have a familiar look to it.

Predicted Arsenal Team:

Szczesny

Djourou     Mertesacker    Koscielny     Vermaelen

Song            Arteta

Walcott             Ramsey           Gervinho

Van Persie

Predicted Score:

Let’s not kid ourselves here, this is going to be an extremely tough match and a point should be considered a good result. Of course we have the potential to take all three points but the key could be how the defence and midfield cope with the movement and creativity of Aguero and Silva. I predict a score draw here, most likely 1-1.

Best of the web

21 Comments

  1. Solomon french

    December 17, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I think arsenal has all it takes to win but right back is a concern

  2. stanley blackburn...........from victoria island,lagos city Nigeria.

    December 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    arsenal will beaty city…..trust me

    • van persie

      December 18, 2011 at 12:28 am

      Yeah i agree with u but don’t forget that man city r a great side so its going to be hard… but i belive in gunners come arsenal!

  3. ikeoluwa

    December 17, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    well i feel arsenal can win the game if all chances ar n wasted.with rvp a win is sure. up gunners

  4. Solexboy

    December 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    My dream is that three point and gervinho own me goal and i expect it tomoro — up gunners “

  5. Ozim

    December 17, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I remain gunner till death. Winners gunner beneath citeh

  6. Fowosere yusuff

    December 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    My arsenal will gun, will shine and fly over man city tommorow.i will always pround of arsenal!!!

  7. Adeleke michael

    December 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Gunners for life..
    I strongly believe arsenal are in best position to win tomorrow, looking at it in this angle. Arsenal dont has much stars in their squads but they played has team. This will give them victory tomorrow…

  8. Hemminex

    December 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Looking at the arsenal team and manchester city team,in terms of players,city gat dat buh in term of pattern arsenal gat dat so if da gunners shud force city to their pattern city is gonna be in trouble waters cos arsenal is gonna demolish them.

  9. Hemminex

    December 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Looking at the arsenal team and manchester city team,in terms of players,city gat dat buh in term of pattern arsenal gat dat so if da gunners shud force city to their pattern city is gonna be in trouble waters cos arsenal is gonna demolish them.gunners till i die.

  10. sue

    December 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    keep the faith you gooners we are the ones to watch

  11. Bilyaminu Tambuwal

    December 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Am sure arsenal will win tomorrow’s game against City, possibly 2-1, Up Gunners, We still luv U.

  12. Tayo

    December 17, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Dis is match to watch,but im premonising dat we’ll lose.they’ll override us tru djourou&metersacker

  13. Tewelde

    December 17, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Im sure that arsenal win z game (2-1).long live arsene

  14. John mcNeal.

    December 17, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    If Ramsy plays, it’s a predictable 2-1 to city.
    Any other player instead of that clown, an easy arsenal win.

  15. Pingback: Wenger: Arsenal are back in the race for the title if we can beat Manchester City – Daily Mail | Arsenal Football Club Stuff

  16. Johndavis

    December 18, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Vitory is ours. Destroying city is certain. Their stars squad does not guarantee success, but a squad of GUNNAZ with great determination & enthusiasm is sure to take the day. It has been written ARSENAL will beat city mercylessly today.

  17. Adeyemo A Isaac

    December 18, 2011 at 1:30 am

    4get about Aguero or Silva,like I said b4 chealse match,as God of heaven lives,Arsenal 3-M.city 0.God bless u

  18. Tamrat

    December 18, 2011 at 5:06 am

    Z gunners are on z way to wine we trust

  19. Tom Miupioman

    December 18, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I believe that, if arsenal succeed in collecting the mid field from man city, that wil be the end of the game by winning man city. Up gunners

  20. ISHODINHO

    September 23, 2012 at 1:34 am

    Arsenal will beat man city 3-0 i belive in my team and carzola will score

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *